Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous Entry | Next Entry

Hello! I am new and thought I would introduce myself. I am not really good at these introductions. We'll see. I am Jessica, I am 18 years old and I have a sister who is 21 and was born with Cerebral Palsy. She has a combination of all three types; Spastic, Athetoid and Ataxic. She is the light of my life and my only real reason for living. She lives at home with my mom, Step-dad, Brother and I. She has a service dog named Takar from Canine Companions for Independence (CCI). She can say few words, but she knows how to communicate very well through hand movements, and clues.

I would love to go through a career path involving handicapped children and teens. I am starting college again next fall, I had to take a semester off to find a job, and help alot with my sister since our Respite Worker is taking 2 months off to go to India to be apart of the Mother Teresa Foundation.

This is a picture of Nikki.


( 4 comments — Leave a comment )
Jan. 23rd, 2008 01:01 am (UTC)
Welcome to our group!

I'm glad that your sister has inspired you to take that kind of career path. I always admire people who work with the handicapped. What kind of career are you thinking of?
Jan. 23rd, 2008 02:00 am (UTC)
Hi Jessica! Welcome to the group..I'm Susana, and I have CP too. Mine is Moderate Spastic Diplegia, which includes spasticity, high tone, and chronic pain aided by a Baclofen Pump.

I'm in my early 30s, but love all ages of people, especially children and teens. I want to wish you well as you head back to school...any area of aid for those of us in the disabled population would be a wonderful career choice. All the best, and feel free to add me as a friend. Nikki looks great!

Take care, and I look forward to getting to know you.
Jan. 23rd, 2008 05:29 pm (UTC)
Howdy and welcome. My name is Sidra. I'm Quietdarkness's eldest daughter. My younger sister has PDD on the autism spectrum.

It's very cool that you want to do something with handicapped people as a career path. I'm an engineer, but there are days where I wonder why I never thought of that myself.
Feb. 10th, 2008 04:19 am (UTC)
Hi Jessica!
My name is Sarah and I have a 30 year old sister with Downs Syndrome. My sister is a light in my life also. She has really taught me so much.
Glad to see you here. Welcome!
( 4 comments — Leave a comment )


peace flower
Supporting our special needs family

Latest Month

January 2013
Powered by LiveJournal.com